If you’ve ever been on a backpacking trip, you know you can’t always choose who you’ll share a bunk bed with. I can remember a hostel in Bologna, Italy, where me and my friend Sebastian shared a room with a crazy German dude who was cycling to Rome. He was a bit creepy and tried to spoon us several times. The rest of the night I’ve blocked from my memory, fortunately.

Nowadays, situations like these are unseen. Or they will be thanks to inBed.me, a social booking website that allows travelers looking to book a hostel, Bed & Breakfast or other budget accommodation to connect with other travelers going to the same destinations. This means you can surf to inbed.me and see pictures of who will be staying in the hostel you’re looking at. Which means you can make your choice based on the ‘hotness’ of the chicks. Or dudes. Or whatever you’re into.

Founded only last year, right now there are only 1,200 hostels on inBed.me, but as part of its expansion, it is also announcing a partnership with Hostelworld, an Ireland-based company that is currently the market leader in booking hostels online. That will see the integration of Hostelworld’s database into inBed.me’s system to allow people to book beds in some 25,000 hostels. Sounds good to me. I’ll give it a try on my next backpacking/city trip.

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

6 Comment on “In bed with …

What do you think?

