Sometimes people ask me: “Hey the.ego.tripper, are there any downsides to travelling? You make it seem so awesome.” In which case I answer: “First of all, it’s Mister the.ego.tripper. And yes there are a few downsides.” I mean, travelling is super sweet, but rock hard beds, insects the size of your fist, long hours in an airplane sitting next to someone who’s breathing foul air in your face, looking for airport wi-fi, cab drivers ripping you off, … I don’t have to tell you about the annoyances of travel. Luckily you tend to forget about these things. At least I do. Once you go into travel mode, there’s almost nothing you can’t handle.

The most painful thing about travelling though – especially for longer periods – is leaving loved ones behind. And by loved ones, I mean my dog. So to thank him for all the time he has to spent alone in my house next to a huge pile of dog food (sometimes I have to leave him dog food for a month, but no worries, I leave it on the kitchen floor, it’s hygienic I assure you), I will dedicate this post to him. His name is Chairman Mao and as you can see he’s a pug. But not just any pug, he’s the best pug in the world. And he likes sake. And apples.

Disclaimer: No animals were harmed during the photoshoot. And I was clearly lying about leaving his food on the kitchen floor while I’m abroad. I just leave it in the bathroom, where his water supply is.

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

7 Comment on “Chairman Mao

What do you think?

