So what are you doing on new year’s eve? What, What? Is that such a crazy question? The summer’s coming to an end, so it’s time to start planning NYE. The question is gonna come anyway, sooner and sooner every year, or so it seems. I always say: ABROAD. Even when I’m not going abroad on New Year’s Eve. Just because I don’t want to party with your drunk ass!

I must say I’ve never really liked that particular day and night. I’m not such a big fan of fireworks anyway. And if you start thinking of the idiots that are allowed to buy fireworks, you can’t blame me for being scared to death when I see something exploding. Honestly, what are you trying to prove? That you have the biggest one? The most colourful one? The loudest one? Well done, amigo. My little pug just shat itself and now I have to clean up the mess.

Anyway, I discovered I actually did like New Year’s Eve when I went abroad in this period for the first time. It was 2004, I guess, and I was celebrating the holiday in Barcelona. More on that later, in a different post. When I got the chance to go to Krakow a few years later, I figured: why not? And ow man, did I enjoy it! Krakow (or Krakau) in Poland is one of the coolest cities I have ever been to. That is probably a little lie to make you wanna read more. But I’m talking partywise (although the city itself is beautiful and charming too, please visit asap).

Krakow is one of those cities you have to explore intensely to really ‘get it’. At first glance it’s a beautiful, old city with a pretty little center, stunning churches, a jewish quarter, cobblestone roads, first class architecture. Like many other Eastern European cities, right? But there’s something different about Krakow, which makes it the perfect New Year’s Eve getaway! I’m talking about pub and discotheque life. Seems like you have to make a bit of an effort to find the right place to party, but once you understand how the city works, you’ll see party opportunities everywhere. And I do mean everywhere! Instead of browsing the main streets looking for a place to drink, just open your eyes, walk into any courtyard, go down some dark and ominous stairs and all of the sudden you’ll find yourself in a crazy drinking house, where you pay about 16 euros for a bottle of (bad) champagne and just a few euros for a few dangerous shots and beers.

So what do you think? Can we party together next NYE? I know where I’ll be! It could be Budda Bar or Absynth, but I’m sure I’ll end up in Prozak! See you there!


(last three pics: (c) Foter

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

5 Comment on “Krazy Krakow

  1. Pingback: •ρ• Second Year « Reflections on Reality

What do you think?

