You see what I did there, dear the.ego.tripper.fans? In the title of this blogpost, I mean. Yes sir, I combined the Zanzibar Z with a reference to what the African island is famous for: spices. How clever of me. No? Stupid? Well, at least I tried…

So, Zanzibar, why Zanzibar? Good question. First answer: why not? Second answer: for the last couple of days I’ve been browsing the web in order to make the bucket list just a little bit longer, again. My bucket list has turned into a Word document of twelve pages and counting. Call it a bucket book. And when I stumbled upon Zanzibar, I figured the paradise island deserved a place in the book. Right? Right?

Anyway, I was just checking out some possibilities for the autumn and winter period. You know how I like to escape the cold weather, the rain and the snow in Belgium. And that’s when the Tanzanian spice island came up. Plus: Thomas Cook offers direct flights to Zanzibar (or maybe semi-direct, with a possible stopover in Mombasa, although I’m not to sure about this). Only one thing worries me: is Zanzibar the ultimate resort destination? If so, I will probably remove it again from the bucket book. Maybe you could help me out? Have you been to Zanzibar and if so, what did you think? The pictures I got from Foter and Google sure look tempting, but what’s the real deal? Is it paradise? Is there more to do than relaxing on the beach? I could get my PADI there, couldn’t I? Anyway, as you can clearly see: HELP!


(pictures Foter/Google)

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

9 Comment on “Zanzibar, zweet or zavory?

  1. Pingback: Zanzibar heroin rehabilitation « BGTV MEDIA ONLINE – REAL HISTORY-REAL NEWS-REAL PEOPLE- KNOW THE TRUTH.

  2. Pingback: Zanzibar Beach and Vacation Holidays | Big five Voyage

What do you think?

