People, people, people, do you realize that the Dutch airline KLM has started it’s ‘World Deal Weeks‘? Of course you did. But I’m here to tell you those aren’t real world deals, since they don’t really take you around the world. Of course a nice trip to Caracas, Curaçao, Miami or Bejing is always sweet (especially with these discounts), but you’re not looking for one of these flights, are you? You’re looking to connect all those cities and make your way around the globe. That’s my boys and girls!

Anyway, when I read about those world deal weeks, they reminded me of the world trip I took earlier this year. And I realized I never actually wrote a blogpost on that trip. Instead I just wrote articles on the cities I visited, separately: Amsterdam – Sao Paulo – Los Angeles – Sydney – Shanghai – Amsterdam. In fifteen days time. As you can imagine, I was exhausted afterwards. Almost sixty hours on a plane, crossing five continents, with only three of four days in each city to do my thing. But it was also well worth it! To be honest, I’d do it again, immediately. But obviously I would choose a different itinerary this time.

But what would that itinerary look like? Because I got my ‘around the world’-ticket from Skyteam I had to go with their connections. And because I desperately wanted to visit Sydney, I had to go to Los Angeles too (there were no other cities I could have flown in from). And because my editor of the newspaper I was writing the story for thought it would be cool to also visit a South-American city, I had to choose Sao Paulo (I actually wanted Buenos Aires, but there are no direct flights from BA to LA). And flying from Sydney the direct options were limited to. I would have chosen Hong Kong, but ended up in Shanghai. But but but, people, I f@çking loved every minute of it. Honestly.

But now: what would you do if you got the chance to go around the world? Please check Skyteam.com, click the ‘Round the world’ planner and start planning! And let me know what your itinerary looks like.


Enjoying Sao Paulo’s cultural life


Riding my bike to Venice beach


Arriving in Sydney after a 15 hour flight


Sleeping it off on a fine Sydney beach


Enjoying the view in Shanghai


Having number 3 for lunch


Arriving in Amsterdam and looking like shit after sixty hours of flying in two weeks.

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

What do you think?

