Ooops, I did it again… I fell in love again. Unexpectedly this time. But I just can’t deny it: I love Iceland. No need to worry, Italy, Japan, US, Mexico, … I still love you too. But you knew I was a travel polygamist, so don’t come complaining now!

Anyway, as you may have noticed, I spent the last four days in Iceland and I loved about every minute of it. Until the cold got to me and I had to take a strong aspirine, a long nap, nose drops and some medication for the throat to get me going again. But in spite of this little setback I was still flabbergasted by the nordic country. By the way: it was my own fault. You cannot wear vans (this is a brand of shoes) to Iceland and expect to live and tell about it afterwards! Also: don’t wear any coats from Zara, they are not made to resist temperatures below 20 degrees Celsius.

Looking at the pictures I took, I decided to split this story on Iceland into two parts. Why: because you can’t handle the overload of awesomeness. Honestly, if I would have put all my pictures in one blogpost, your heads would have exploded. Plus, this first part will make you come back for more, which is nice for my statistics, isn’t it (but mostly I’m doing this for your sanity).

So, finally, to Iceland. Just to start off: Iceland is about three times as big as Belgium, but with a population of only 328.000. Compare it to the 11 million of Belgium and you’ll know that most of Iceland is ‘in the middle of f*cking nowhere’! And probably half of the population lives in Reykjavik. By the way: 90 percent of the country is inhabitable. If you look at the pictures, you’ll know why…

After having spent three hours flying from Amsterdam – with a very relaxing Icelandair flight, I must say – I arrived in the airport in Keflavik, about 50 kilometers from the capital. On the programma: pick up your car and drive to the Blue Lagoon. When they gave me the keys of a Toyota Avensis I was quite bummed out. I had expected a cool 4×4 (and a good tip, ladies and gentlemen: always go for the 4×4 in Iceland!), but got this charmless vehicle. But the charm was soon to be found, nearby, in the Blue Lagoon. Oh my, oh my, have you ever seen anything this pretty? Look at the color of the water! This geothermic spa, located in a moonlike landscape, truly is one of the wonders of the world. It smells though, like a sulfuric fart after having eaten a dozen rotten eggs. You get the picture… After the Blue Lagoon I drove to Fludir, one of the many villages in the middle of fuçking nowhere, about a two hour drive from the Blue Lagoon to the east. Since it was already 9pm I decided to just have late dinner, a late beer and go to bed, so I would be ready for my programme the next day.

Day two started out with a heavy breakfast and a great tip by the owner of the Icelandair Hotel Fludir: go see the gathering of the sheep. Apparently, one day a year, the farmers bring in their sheep from the mountains, where they have spent to weeks finding them and rounding them up to go back to the farm. On this particular day, everyone in Iceland leaves their caves to witness the big round up. It’s truly a spectacle. All the sheep are divided according to their owners and stuck in a walled pizza shaped area, where they wait to be transported to their farm.

After this unique experience I drove to … well, whatever the name was. Like a vantage point, on a steep hill, with a view. Damn, this is a bad explanation, isn’t it. But it’s the best I can do. This is where I looked at the map and decide to drive to Stöng (you need to take an unpaved road for a few miles, this is where the 4×4 would have come in handy). This is not a real village, it’s just an area where somebody put a house, close to a waterfall. I think the waterfall’s name is Glaing or Gloin or something. Doesn’t really matter, does it. BECAUSE IT’S BEAUTIFUL. It takes a hike of a few kilometers to reach it, but obviously it’s well worth it.

When I drove back to … ehm, where I was coming from … I stopped at a gas station to get some food and drinks. And while I was eating a fantastic burger (I know, how hard’s that to imagine) I saw an airplane driving up to the station, getting gas, and flying off. Only in Iceland…

Anyway, stay tuned for part two, which is even more awesome. So come back tomorrow!

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

What do you think?

