So where did I leave off yesterday? Ah yes, with the airplane at the gas station. How bout that, huh? Strangely no one commented on yesterday’s post. Is there something wrong with the commenting system? Since I changed to the new lay-out, the amount of comments have dropped heavily. Not sure why. Is it because you’re jaws have dropped when seeing those pretty little pictures? I guess so. In that case I don’t think I will be getting a lot of response on the second part of my Iceland trip either. You’ll soon find out why…

So, day three of my Iceland trip. Exciting. After having been to the Blue Lagoon, to the gathering of the sheep, to the small waterfall and all the vantage points, day three would have to do a mean ass job to kick day 2’s and day 1’s ass. But it did. Not sure how that happened. I just kept driving and driving and once I arrived in my hotel in Reykjavik, I had a camera and smartphone full of awesomeness. For once I won’t go into to much detail: I visited Gullfoss, the golden waterfall, Geysir, the golden geyser and Thingvellir, the golden national park. Put those three highlights together and call it the Golden Circle. At least that’s what the Icelandic people do.


About 70 meters wide and falling more than 30 meters deep, this waterfall.


One of the many geysers of Geysir. Spraying hot water in the air, up to 30 meters. The actual Geysir, the biggest of all Icelandic geysers (it’s getting complicated, isn’t it?) doesn’t explode to often, but when it does, it laughs in the face of Yellowstone’s Old Faithful. A bit like this: “Ha, Old Faithful, you small little fucker, my spray of 90 meters high kicks your’s in the balls!” Or so I imagine…


Yes, they have churches too. In European mainland terms, this church doesn’t impress much. But for Icelandic standards it’s quite nice. At least that’s what the brochure said.


On the road to Thingvellir National Park. Truly part of an Icelandic experience: enjoying the views while driving.


Thingvellir National Park. If you don’t like hiking, you can go scuba diving in the adjacent lake. Apparently that’s quite spectacular, with visibility of over 100 meters. Take into account that the water is between 2 and 4 degrees Celsius.

Oh, almost forgot to tell you about day 4. On day 4 I went home. That’s all. No, just kidding. Day four was spent in and around Reykjavik. Would you mind if I say that Reykjavik isn’t really very pretty? Although the do have a few very good restaurants. I especially enjoyed the Fish Market (or Fiskmarkaðurinn), where I tried the minke whale sashimi. And it was surprisingly good!!! Also the crab, the cod and the tuna were very enjoyable.

So, to sum up: Iceland is an amazing getaway for either a few days or two to three weeks. Expect amazing scenery (nothing lush like rainforest or anything, but dramatic and incredible views), expect good (sea)food, expect to be flabbergasted by your roadtrip, expect to be cold (even in summertime it doesn’t really get hotter than 18 degrees, although they had one day of 26 last summer, which almost killed all of the Icelandic people). Expect to… fall in love, perhaps?

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

4 Comment on “Iceland, I think I fell in love with you (2/2)

What do you think?

