Take me home, country roads, to the place I belong, Arizona, mountain momma, take me home, country roads. John Denver was absolutely right about Arizona, wasn’t he? Oh wait, he was singing about West Virginia? Ah well, doesn’t really matter. Arizona, that’s the place I belong…

What the hell am I talking about? Arizona, I don’t belong in Arizona. Dear God, no. The sun, the drought, the miles and miles of country roads, the wildlife. I wouldn’t survive two weeks. Luckily one week is enough to see what I wanted to show you. And no, I’m not talking about the Grand Canyon, although I know it’s fabulous. I’m talking about Page. Page? Yes, Page. Really? Yes, really!

Page, the village, isn’t really a sight for sore eyes, if I may say so. It’s just another village along another dirt road in the beautiful countryside of Arizona, or Utah, or Nevada. As a village it’s a convenient stop between Grand Canyon and Bryce or Zion. But it’s also a must-see, or a must-stop. Why? Because of this: Horseshoe Bend and Antelope Canyon.

Horseshoe Bend is the name for the horseshoe-shaped meander of the Colorado River located near the town of Page. And it’s nice. Isn’t it? But not as nice as Antelope Canyon! Did you know Antelope Canyon is the most photographed slot canyon in the southwest of America? Of course you did! And did you know it was discovered in 1931 by a 12-year old Navajo girl? And did you know the Navajo indians (sorry, native Americans) kept it a secret for quite a while? Nowadays Antelope Canyon is visited exclusively through guided tours (yes, in those nice blue cars), in part because rains during monsoon season can quickly flood the canyon. Which will kill you. But no worries, you’ll die knowing you’ve seen one of the most beautiful natural phenomena on earth.

Oh yeah, Page is located next to Lake Powell. Which is nice for a swim. Watch out for 3D piranhas though.

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

One Comment on “Arizona, the place I belong

What do you think?

