Dear fans of the.ego.tripper, if you would look at a map of all the places I’ve been, you will see that Africa has not been my favorite continent. Let me rephrase: I’ve only been to the African continent twice, once in Tunisia when I was young and once in South-Africa, just last year. And it’s not that I didn’t like it. The reason I’ve visited Asia and the Americas more often is… well… I guess it’s the price of a plane ticket. Or euhm… Actually I can’t really think of a good reason why I’ve only been to Africa twice. Especially when I see a press release about Botswana.

Botswana, where the fUçk is Botswana? Good question. It’s in between South-Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe and Zambia. Let’s call it Southern Africa. And apparently Botswana is quite special. The press release even calls it the ultimate wildernis experience. But you know how it goes with press releases. They tend to exaggerate. But, when I looked it up, it actually seems like a pretty impressive destination. With neverending dry plains on the one hand, tons of rivers and waterways on the other, Botswana seems to offer contrast. And isn’t that exactly what we, ego.trippers, are looking for in a destination?

A trip to Botswana – did you know the capital of the country is Gaborone? – will take you to the Okavango delta, one of the last pieces of unspoiled nature (although, after the shitloads of tourists I’m sending to Botswana with this blogpost, it will not be unspoiled anymore, I’m afraid). It’ll also take you to the Moremi wildlife reservation where you can spot four of the big five. Then you take a trip to Chobe national park which holds the biggest group of elephants in whole Africa. And to finish it off, you’ll go across the border to Zimbabwe to visit the most impressive Victoria Falls.

Impressive huh? But don’t expect it too be cheap. Well, at least if you’re going with an organized tour. Fifteen adventurous days will cost you about 4.000 euros. That includes awesomeness!

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

2 Comment on “The new African hotspot?

What do you think?

