Howdy, ladies and gentlemen, how are you today? And if you’re wondering how I’m doing: couldn’t be better! I spent a weekend in Ghent, walked the city, enjoyed the views, the bars, the nightlife and the best part is: no hangover today. Even with all the tequila I had last night! This calls for a small celebration. Please pull your most awesome dance move right now. I’m doing the mushroom, go look it up, it’s a thing.

Alright, now that we’ve had fun, let’s go back to reality. Hard knock life, as I like to call it. Did I ever tell you I met my wife in Ghent and did I ever tell you we used to live there for almost two years? Right in the heart of the city. This must have been seven years ago and for some reason we never really went back (actually I go back every Monday for my weekly newspaper meeting, but that’s not the same, is it?). So we decided to book a hotel (Hotel Onderbergen it was, quite nice) and be the typical tourist. It was great. I was wearing my white Canon EOS-M around my neck, like trendy tourists tend to do. If it would have been a bit warmer, I would have worn my Birkenstocks. With white socks of course.

Anyway, we walked the cobblestone streets, cursed the cobblestones for being so pretty and annoying, we crossed bridges, we ate, we drank beer in a pub, we drank cocktails in a speak-easy, we drank more beer in a club, then we drank tequila in the same club, then we ordered more tequila and more beer. It was swell! But unfortunately for you, I don’t really have proof of the party pudding. Except for one picture I found on my phone this morning. What’s going on ladies?

Anyway, if for some reason you’ve never been to Ghent: what the hell is wrong with you? Djeez!

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

One Comment on “Ghent, I’ll be back!

What do you think?

