Peepz, have I told you recently that I love you all? I don’t think so. But I do. Kinda. Well, I don’t really love you in that way, I just like the fact you visit the.ego.tripper, cause this virtual traffic allows me travel more. And I love you for it! Also, it’s gonna be Valentine’s Day soon, no? Honestly, I couldn’t care less! But this year might be different. I’m probably gonna spend it in Jerez de la Frontera, in the south of Spain, petting horses. More on that later.

Anyway, to prove to you that I’m actually a big fan of romance, I thought I’d show you around in fair Verona. Yes, Verona, where Romeo and Juliet did inappropriate stuff on an age so inappropriate it would only be considered ‘fair enough’ in Belgium. But that’s not the point, is it? No, the point is LOVE, ladies and gentlemen. Yes, beautiful, soothing, warm, kind, passionate love (the Chinese food I had last night is crawling back, I swear). No, no, it’s true. Verona is all about love. I remember the first time I came to this beautiful Italian town. It was 2003, so exactly ten years ago, when me and my brother-from-another-mother shared a tiny little tent on one of the two camp grounds in Verona. If I were gay, this would have been true romance. Now we just call it a bromance (nothing happened by the way).

Anyway, back to Verona: I FELL IN LOVE. Instantaneously. I swear. I fell in love with the camp site (Castel San Pietro), I fell in love with the sunglass shops, the gelaterias, the churches, the river and bridges, and of course the amfitheatre. So I went back the year after and a few years after that visit. Just to go to the opera in the amfitheatre. Unfortunately they only organise these operas in summer time, starting end of June if I’m not mistaken. So if you’re planning a visit around Valentine’s you will probably not hear Verdi’s creations. But you will witness the Verona Love Festival (this is not the real name of the festival, but I’m too lazy to look it up), which is held for four days around Valentine’s Day. And you will visit Juliet’s balcony and tomb. And you will pet her right boob. And you will put a small piece of paper on the wall with your name and the one you love on it. And the love will stay. For about ten years. Then the magic wears off. Enjoy!

_verona_lirica4

093

6979706522_912c5dbba0_o

romeo_juliet_verona

Verona_Lover__s_wall_by_fotofreccia

verona-italy

verona-piazza-tetti-2314873-o

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

What do you think?

