When people ask me – and they often do – where they should go on holiday or on city trip, I obviously reply: I do not care. I repeat, I do not care. Honestly, I don’t care where you go or have been. You see, this is the.ego.tripper. Need I say more? Nah, just kidding, I’m actually a pretty nice guy and when it comes to travel I just can’t stop talking. Often I will mention Portland, Oregon as some sort of perfect, yet quirky getaway. It’s no New York, London or Tokio. But that’s just it. You’ve all been to those places. You’re looking for something different now, something special, mainly to brag about having been there to your friends, who will respect your hipsterness.

And when it comes to hipsters and hipness, there’s only one capital in this modern world: Portland. I know, the word hipster comes with a slight connotation nowadays, but as far as Portland is concerned there’s nothing wrong with being hip. Au contraire, mes amis, Portland oozes cool. And beauty! Ah mah God, it’s so pretty. Especially that Japanese and Chinese garden. According to TripAdvisor, the Lan Su Chinese Garden is one of the most authentic Chinese gardens outside of China. It has hundreds of native Chinese plants and many different tree specimens. I would say the same about that Japanese garden, but since I can’t find that information on TripAdvisor, I will only say: pletty, pletty, pletty.

But back to the coolness. Voodoo Doughnut and Ace Hotel. Need I say more? Man, this donut shop is the proverbial shit (I mean it’s very cool)! Not only do they make delicious doughnuts, you can also get married there. Really? Yes, really! A legal voodoo wedding, with coffee and doughnuts for 24 people, free parking and doughnut centerpiece will cost you 225 dollars. Can you say ‘I do’? If you’re looking for some more ‘cool’, check out Hopworks Urban Brewery and their Bikebar, where you can donate your own energy and have a nice local brew. For sleeping, I recommend the Ace Hotel. No explanation necessary, I presume.

But there’s more. How bout Powell’s City of Books? This is more than just a bookstore. There is an art gallery here, a cafe and a machine that allow you to publish your own book. Also check out Portland Saturday Market (strangely also open on Sundays).

chinese garden

japanes gardens

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

portland saturday market

portland view

acehotel

portland_wedding_photography_wj01

Portland-Waterfront

Voodoo Doughnut (1)

Voodoo Doughnut (2)

Voodoo Doughnut

ironic-hipster-portland

Oh, one last thing about the hipster quality of Portland: it’s in the Urban Dictionary!

Portland Hipster
Usually defined as a person who:

A. Drinks PBR
B. Has the money to bath, but doesn’t
C. Cuts their own hair, badly.
C. Wears “Ironic” 80’s clothes
E. Has a bike
F. Has a beard
G. Rolls their pant legs up to high

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

What do you think?

