Yes, I’m well aware that a blogpost about Amsterdam would be more appropriate on this historic Queen’s Day, but by now you already know the.ego.tripper doesn’t care much for what is right and what is wrong. And there’s definitely nothing wrong with Vienna. If you follow me on twitter or Facebook, you might have noticed I just spent a weekend in Austria’s finest. Why? Because I can, because I love Vienna (as you already know), because Austrians are the friendliest people in Europe and because Ryanair offered 70 euro roundtrip flights from Brussels South to Bratislava airport (which is only 70 kilometer away from Vienna). If you’re looking for more reasons to go to Vienna, I can only say this much: Apfelstrudel, Sachertorte, Sisi, Hotel Daniel, Schloss Schönbrunn, Museumsviertel, Strandbar Herrmann!

Anyway, I thought I’d keep this blogpost short and simple. Textwise, that is. I’ve got a shitload of pictures lined up for you which will give you a good impression of Vienna. I also want to mention Vienna is a perfect weekend getaway. There’s plenty to see and do, but it’s not overwhelmingly big like some other European capitals. Of course, when you only have two days and a half, it’s all about choices. But I feel those choices are pretty straightforward in Vienna: Schönbrunn, Hofburg, Stephansdom, coffee and deserts, Mozarthaus, Museumsviertel, … I will let the pictures do the talking now.

But before I actually go there, I want to mention I’ve been a naughty boy. Thanks to the lovely people at Tourismus Wien I got a nice blogger discount on hotels (and also a free Vienna Card, thankyouverymuch). And obviously I chose Hotel Daniel for my stay. Is this one of the hippest hotels I’ve ever stayed at? Most def! It’s so hip, you’re not even allowed to take pictures. Obviously I felt this rule didn’t apply to me. SORRY, HOTEL DANIEL! Anyway, will I recommend this place to everyone? Good question. I don’t think so. If you’re looking for a good night sleep, the cheapest rooms of Hotel Daniel (with busy street view) won’t suit you. They are quite noisy and lack curtains, which means you’ll be blown out of your bed in the morning by the sun and the trafic. But who cares? The showers have glass walls and the breakfast – in Bakery Daniel – is honestly one of the best I’ve ever had in a hotel. Also, every member of staff at Hotel Daniel was superduper friendly and helpful.

Anyway, I took the liberty to offer you three different sets of pictures: the black-and-white edition, the colored one and the hotel views. Hope you like em.

B&W

Vienna 9

Vienna 15

Vienna 17

Vienna 18

Vienna 5

Vienna 8kopie

Vienna 2

In color

Vienna 1

Vienna 3

Vienna 6

Vienna 11
(no filter used, I kid you not)

Vienna 12

Vienna 14

Vienna 16

Hotel Daniel

Daniel 1

Daniel 2

Daniel 3

Daniel 4

Daniel 5

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

2 Comment on “Apfelstrudel und Sachertorte

What do you think?

