I actually wanted to use the word pristine in the title of this blogpost, because pristine means ‘remaining in a pure state, uncorrupted by civilization’. But pristine beauty might sound a bit over the top, doesn’t it? But actually, I couldn’t stress hard enough how amazing and jawdroppingly beautiful Oregon is. I know, for Europeans the state of Oregon is not a very well known or popular destination. And therefore I say ‘for shame, Europe, for shame’!

A trip to this awesome west coast US state probably means flying into Portland (which you can do directly from Amsterdam by the way). Which is a good thing. I would even say Portland is my favorite city on the entire west coast. Yes, I realize that’s a bold statement, but Portland is so cute, so pretty, so hipster, there are so many microbreweries, there are parties, cool hotels, awesome bars, gorgeous parks, fancy shops, … Whatever you’re looking for, Portland has got it. The most amazing book stores, donut stores where you can get married, school buildings turned to party hotspots, famous second hand stores. I can’t think of anything wrong with this city. I stayed in the Ace Hotel by the way, which was … could you suggest another synonym for amazing? My thesaurus ran out of words. But you get the point.

If you find the strength to leave Portland (which I have regretted ever since I visited), there’s quite a surprise waiting for you at the shore. Oregon has the most interesting coastline I’ve ever seen, it’s so rugged, so pristine. I’ve never seen anything like it. Don’t expect popular beaches packed with tourists, instead expect natural beauty at it’s best. The famous highway 101 takes you all the way to the border with California, which is nice too, but different obviously. Anyway, since I’ve run out of synonyms for beautiful, I will just show you some pictures. And I’ll look up some new adjectives for my next post, I promise.

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

13 Comment on “Oregon: unspoiled beauty

What do you think?

