Oh my God, ladies and gentlemen, dear fans of the.ego.tripper. Oh my fucking God! I honestly cannot believe it. We did it! Well, it was mostly me, but you supported me in doing what I do best. Thanks to you I’ve won the amazing Knack Weekend Blog Award. Again! OMG OMG OMG.

(the.ego.tripper reaching for the pocket of his tuxedo where he finds a handwritten acceptance speech)

Dear friends, acquaintances and people I’ve never seen before,

You love me. (leave pause for possible laughter)
Oh, difficult crowd, are we? (leave another pause for possible laughter)
Well, this is embarrassing. (try not to show you’re embarrassed)
But I don’t really care, cause I’ve won. Please take a good look at what I’ve won! Isn’t she beautiful? Made of the brightest plastic ever made, the kindest words engraved in it’s valuable core. WINNER. I can imagine my competitors for this trophy are weeping now. I would be too. If I weren’t on this stage, holding this magnificent award, that is! And while I’m up here, and you’re all down there, I’d like to take this opportunity to say thank you. Here we go: thank you. To all of you who took the time and energy to vote for me. We’ve participated in a hero’s journey, the hero here being the.ego.tripper. (don’t mention you stole this last line from Christoph Waltz’s acceptance speech, but with Quentin where you wrote the.ego.tripper)
(now stand still for just a sec and let the photographers do their job)
(take a bow)
(take another, deeper bow)
(smile, but don’t show teeth)
(now leave the stage while crowd applauding you)
(drink champagne)

For those of you who don’t realize the Weekend Blog Awards are still a day away, I will say this: I haven’t won and I probably will not win. And if I do win, I will say I didn’t deserve to win, but thanks anyway. Seeya! Keep coming back to the.ego.tripper for more travel adventures!

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

One Comment on “The acceptance speech

What do you think?

