Howdy, travel fans! What is up today? If you’re living in Belgium you’re probably doing your best not to melt, aren’t you? Understandable. But luckily there’s hope. If you leave now. To Interlaken, Switzerland. Yes, folks, this is day two of our Switzerland Blog Week! Yesterday you read about my stay in the wonderful city of Basel, today I’ll tell you all about Interlaken, in the heart of Switzerland.

But first, I also told you yesterday about the car I was driving while on holiday in Switzerland. Yes sir, it was a 170.000 euro Jaguar XKR-S convertible, with 550 horsepower and a sprint to 100 km/hour in only 4,4 seconds. You wanna know how much time it took me to drive from Basel to Interlaken? Well, actually, still one and a half hours, cause of trafic jams. Shame!

Anyway, Interlaken in a small town in between two pristine lakes, Lake Thun and Lake Brienz. Inter-Laken. Between-Lakes. Simple as that. But not just two lakes. Two truly stunning lakes, at the foot of the glorious Jungfrau mountain. To me, this is Switzerland as I imagined it! Emerald lakes, snow covered mountain tops, beautiful campsites. Can you imagine driving an Italian Racing Red Jag in this environment? I’m sure you can’t, but I’ll tell you: few things in life are better than this.

So, Interlaken, campsites. Cause I didn’t want to spend too much money on a fancy hotel, I decided to take my sweet ride to a campsite. Or a tent village, as Balmer’s calls it. Heads were turning when I pulled up at this backpacker’s spot, as you can imagine. Anyway, the tent village is cool, with great views, a hot tub, a small swimming pool, a barbecue area, a bar and a handful of large tents with two person beds (also dorm tents are available). Sounds great huh, but will I stay there again? Don’t think so, not at my age at least. I’ve come to this point where I find a good night’s rest quite important. And a good night’s rest is not guaranteed here. No sir, a few idiots were still firing up the barbecue at 1.30 am. Loads of fun if you are 21 years of age and you only need two hours of sleep each night. But I was pissed off. Until I woke up and saw the mountain range around me. Pretty, pretty, pretty. Almost making up for that shitty night.

Alright, I will stop boring you with text. Take a look at some pictures. Wait, there’s some drool there, dude. I know the car is sweet, but please stop drooling.

Bankoboev.Ru_lake_brienz_iseltwald_switzerland

IMG_9810

IMG_9830

interlaken_wallpaper_2-other

20130712_143214

20130713_122205

interlaken

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

One Comment on “In between two lakes

What do you think?

