Dear fans of the.ego.tripper, I need your help. Does anyone of you know if the legendary club Kater Holzig in Berlin is still open? I heard they had to close their doors at the end of August or the beginning of September, but on their website I can still see a few upcoming events. So what’s up?

Have you ever been to Kater Holzig? Well, I haven’t! It pains me to say that, cause I’ve heard so many good things about this club slash bar slash restaurant. If you don’t have a clue what the hç!! I’m talking about: Kater Holzig is an old soap factory, located on one of the river Spree banks, that has been turned in one of the hippest, coolest places in Berlin. It’s shabby, full of graffiti and party people. There’s a Spree-side bar and lounge area, equipped with a bonfire for frosty nights. One of the reasons why Kater Holzig is such a great place is the creativity which can be found everywhere in this club. It’s just one big cultural wonderland!

Perched right along the water in a truly magnificent building, Kater’s unenviable task was to take the brilliance of Bar25 (Kater Holzig’s predecessor that closed down in 2009) and expand upon it. Apparently that’s exactly what happened. But unfortunately I never got the chance to witness that with my own eyes. But it’s too late now. Or isn’t it? My German just doesn’t cut it. Can someone go to KaterHolzig.de and tell me what’s going on? Thanks!

In the meantime, I’m booking my plane ticket and looking for places to stay in Berlin!

719907

de-1231-418788-105146-back

KaterHolzig_3

KaterHolzig_6-600x450

KaterHolzig_7-600x400

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

2 Comment on “Booking Berlin

What do you think?

