Hi there, fan. Yes you. The.ego.tripper.fan. How are you today? Ready for a snow report on Ischgl? Lucky you, cause I’ve got one!

As I told you earlier, last Thursday I went to a little place in Austria called Ischgl, for the opening of the ski season. Every year Ischgl – aka the Ibiza of the Alps – organizes a huge open air concert for everyone who’s bought a ski pass. And this year the amazing and beloved Canadian ‘rock’ band Nickelback did the honors. Can you believe how excited I got? More on Nickelback later…

First things first: the opening of the ski season couldn’t have been any better! The sun was out, it was freezing cold, the glühwein was warm and more importantly, the snow was superb. Honestly, perfect skiing and snowboarding conditions! You can tell, can’t you?

Almost as important as skiing or snowboarding on perfectly prepared slopes, is looking cool while doing so. And I must thank the brands Brunotti, Pull-in and DaKine for making me look swagtastic. Honestly, you wouldn’t believe how many people came up to me and asked where I bought my thermal underwear. Haha, buying, haha. Especially ‘the Captain’ was a great hit. I must add this: the fabric is a combo of DryClim and ThermoClim, which holds the body warm while getting rid of sweat. I swear, it’s just perfect! I’ll be looking cool in these outfits again next year. The gloves were perfect too, by the way. And the ski suit, dear God, I will never go back to separate trousers and jacket ever again. Say goodbye to a snowy buttcrack!

Anyway, don’t have much time left now. Got to get to my interview. But before I do, I will have to say Nickelback was frikkin’ awesome. My girl even caught a guitar pick and a drum stick! Probably cause we were the only ones in the front row, but still…

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

What do you think?

