Start spreading the news! The.ego.tripper has started his New York blog week, ladies and gentlemen. If you want to be a part of it, start reading, start enjoying and come back tomorrow and the day after. Here we go…

So, peepz, earlier I told you I had never been to New York before. Thanks to a great Brussels Airlines deal (I’ll get back to this in a few days), I gave myself the opportunity to change that. So I would no longer have to feel the shame of never having been in the Big Apple, whilst calling myself an ego.tripper. Everybody kept saying how fucking fantastic this city is and because of that I began to fear I wouldn’t like it. Cause you know how it goes. High hopes, high expectations, …

Soon after landing though, I realized I had nothing to fear and that this city was going to give me everything my travel heart desired. It really did! And I’ll explain how in a few blogposts. We’ll start in Brooklyn, in Dumbo to be more precise. Dumbo is an acronym for Down Under the Manhattan Bridge Overpass. But obviously it wasn’t the Manhattan Bridge I wanted to see. No sir, my first jaw-dropping moment was going to be the famous Brooklyn Bridge. I was keen on walking it into Manhattan and my vagabond shoes were longing to stray. So I took the subway from 42nd street and 8th – the closest station to my hotel – to High Street station in Brooklyn. Great decision! If you walk from this subway station to the waterfront you’ll get an amazing view of downtown Manhattan. Also you get the chance to enjoy the Brooklyn Bridge Park, which was now covered in snow.

Anyway, after warming up with a coffee from this hipster place in Dumbo – I believe the name was One Girl Cookies – I started making my way towards Manhattan. Needless to say, walking the Brooklyn Bridge is a magical stroll. And if it weren’t for the temperatures (of minus 7 or something) it was a romantic one as well.

After the High Line, eurhm, what happened after the High Line? At this point my legs hurt too much to still remember everything, but there was something with a tropical plant shop, a flatiron building and a Macy’s.

Now we’ll pick up the pace a bit, cause this walk will end in Chelsea and we still have a lot of ground to cover. Once you pass the bridge, you can take a right and walk the streets of Chinatown. Interesting area, but it wasn’t lunch time yet, so I just kept walking. First over to Little Italy, then I made my way to SoHo (yes, this is cool!), Greenwich Village, West Village and finally the Meatpacking district. Here I had to sit down for an hour, to get some rest and to get some food in my body. My tip: eat at Chelsea Market, an enclosed food court, slash mall, slash hipster hangout.

My vagabond shoes still had some miles left, luckily, and because I really wanted to be king of the hill, I climbed the stairs to the High Line. This elevated park used to be a railroad line, probably to ship packed meat into the city or something. Now it’s an urban park promenade. And it is cool! This park offers great views of the Hudson river and the city’s infrastructure. It’s a perfect spot to get blown away by the incredible architecture of New York. And apparently, when it’s not freezing, it’s supposed to be a fantastic spot to enjoy a beer and have a bite to eat.

After the High Line, eurhm, what happened after the High Line? At this point my legs hurt too much to still remember everything, but there was something with a tropical plant shop, a flatiron building and a Macy’s. To summarize: this long, very very long walk was an amazing introduction of New York and I’ll recommend it to NY-newbies.

Please come back tomorrow for: Central Park, the Apple Store, Times Square, the M&M Store, the Guggenheim, …

(click to enlarge)

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

What do you think?

