Good morning, friends. As I’m sitting here in the business premier lounge of Eurostar in St. Pancras London, I wanted to talk to you about traveling comfortably and luxuriously. In my years of traveling I’ve done it all: getting around in third class trains, flying a waterplane, getting stuck for a few hours in economy class on the melting tarmac of Cancun, … I’ve been around long enough to realize how important comfort is whilst making your way from point A to point B (actually I never used to find it so important, but I guess with age comes wisdom and the need for comfort/luxury).

Needless to say I was pretty stoked when Brussels Airlines upgraded my return flight from New York to Brussels (A330). Flying business class was something I looked forward to, especially after my great experience with Jet Airways (New Delhi-Brussels). Anyway, I was already pretty happy with Brussels Airlines’ ‘normal’ class. Economy, as travel gurus tend to call it. Huge private screens to watch (mostly older) movies, comfortable seats, great service, clean toilets. I was pretty happy spending eight hours and twenty minutes here.

But the return flight was something different. Normally you don’t really look forward to come back from New York, but I honestly didn’t mind that much. Six and a half hours of business class were ahead, after a few hours in the Lufthansa Lounge at JFK. I already spotted two famous Belgian actors in the lounge (Veerle Baetens and Johan Heldenbergh, they were promoting Broken Circle Breakdown in LA, which is nominated for an Oscar).

Anyway, when we boarded the plane, I was satisfied. A beautiful business class area, huge (but really huge) screens, perfect seats for relaxing or sleeping, very nice stewards and stewardesses and some of the best airline food I had ever had.

Ow shit, my train is about to leave. I will stop talking and show you pics. I’ll update when I get back home.

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

What do you think?

