A couple of months ago already – I guess it was somewhere in September – I got the opportunity to do something special. McLaren asked me to drive their brilliant 650S Spider in the beautiful Bordeaux region. Cause, you know, drinking and driving are such a perfect combo. So I said yes. Sure. Why not. I’ve got nothing else to do that day anyway. (I played it cool)

So when I got to Bordeaux, a driver brought me and my photographer (Thomas Vanhaute, who made three of these pics. Yes, the three best ones obviously) to a famous wine house. But instead of pouring wine into us, they offered us a car. Or to be more precise: we got to choose between eight cars, some with a roof, some without, one in black, one in grey, one in blue, green, orange, … You get it. Obviously we chose the orange Spider. It goes without saying this would not be my colour of choice if I were to buy a 650S, but it looks pretty in the pictures, doesn’t it?

Anyway, I’m not going to talk to you about this car too much. I mean, com’on, this is a travel blog. But still: 650 horsepower, 0-100 km/h in 3.0 seconds, maximum speed of 329 km/h, 3.8 liter V8, … Again: you get the idea. Needless to say this car was exhilarating, precise, loud, orgasm giving, cool, fast as lightning. I LOVED IT.

As I said: this is a travel blog. So I’m going to give you a couple of words on the region around Bordeaux: pretty. Very pretty. (sorry, I know you just wanna look at these pictures. I’ll shut up now)

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

One Comment on “The Bordeaux Bullet

  1. Pingback: My thoughts | teds blog

What do you think?

