Because you follow my every move on Instagram (actually I know you don’t, but please do: @theegotripper), you know I spent the last couple of weeks in Thailand and Cambodia. Well, I’m back now in stinky Belgium, which means it’s time to start blogging and bragging about my trip. You know how it goes. I thought I’d give you a couple of stories and I’ll start with a short one: Koh Rong Samloem. I’m pretty sure these words mean nothing to you, but I’ll explain. If you’re ever in Cambodia – and you should probably go before the Russians take over everything (not kidding) – you’ll want to visit the temples of Angkor, perhaps the Killing Fields in Phnom Penh and for some reason you’ll also probably go to Sihanoukville, the largest city on the south coast. This city won’t really give it to you tourist-style, but it does offer a few great getaways by boat. To Koh Rong for instance, Cambodia’s second largest island. Or better yet: Koh Rong Samloem, the smaller and definitely more quiet neighbor of Koh Rong.

Koh Rong Samloem is about 45 minutes away from Sihanoukville by speedboat and yet a world away. No shitloads of weed smoking backpackers on this jawdroppingly beautiful island! No sir. Just beach, some bungalows and clear blue waters. It reminded my of a scene in The Beach (the movie), but I’m not sure what it was. Maybe the unbelievable beauty of it all. I must admit though I only spent some time on the eastern side of the island, named Saracen Bay. To be more precise: I stayed in Paradise Bungalows (nice place, a little expensive though, but I guess everything on this island is more expensive than on the mainland). On the western side you still have Lazy Beach and Sunset beach, but I preferred being lazy and enjoying the sunset on my own beach. Anyway, picture time. Oh wait, maybe one more thing. If you’re looking for a party, please don’t come to this island. Big brother Koh Rong might suit you better. Koh Rong Samloem is merely for relaxing purposes.

Oh, so, last thing: what’s up with the navy base in the title of this amazing blogpost? Good question! And a simple answer: Koh Rong Samloem is owned by the Cambodian navy, which has a base there.

Other interesting facts: there’s no wifi on the island. And there are no ATM’s on the island.

SAMSUNG CSC

20150131_141110

SAMSUNG CSC

Well, yes, this is me. Testing my selfie stick (can’t believe I just typed these words). Showing off how sun burnt I am (nofilter). Kids, stay out of the sun or use sunscreen!
20150131_174732_HDR

Well, yes, this is what I was wearing at the time. Look at my undies. Aren’t they awesome (new PULLIN collection, 40 euros). And the bermuda (new Fred Perry collection, 100 euros), cool innit?
SAMSUNG CSC

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

7 Comment on “Koh Rong Samloen: my kind of navy base

What do you think?

