If you happen to be from Belgium, you will probably know the ultimate comic book hero Jommeke. When I was a kid, I was a huge fan of Jommekes work. He was just a small boy, but the things he did, the places he visited… Oh my God. He had his own flying globe and flying barrel. And there was a monkey, a dog, a parrot, twin girls… Recipe for brilliance, I tells ya. Anyway, one of the many Jommeke albums – which happened to be one of my favorites – is titled ‘De Schat van Angkor’, which means ‘The Treasure of Angkor’. The setting is probably no surprise: the temples of Angkor, especially Angkor Wat. I remember I was flabbergasted as a kid, finding out about this amazing place, where treasures were hidden in old statues. Still gives me the shivers!

Anyway, you can imagine how excited I was to visit the temples of Angkor myself. I almost urinated on myself. True story.

(so now for the boring part: information. Angkor is probably the biggest religious site in the world. The principal temple, Angkor Wat, was built between 1113 and 1150. But the site is so much more than this one – amazing – temple. If you want to see it all, you better buy a seven day pass. You can also get three day and one day passes. One of the most stunning parts of this area is probably Bayon and Ta Prohm, which you will recognize if you’ve ever played or seen the movie Tomb Raider. Entrance for one day costs 20 dollars, but you will also need a tuktuk driver that will stay with you all day. I got one for 12 dollars. Most people come real early to see the sunrise. The area opens at 5.30 am.)

Enough already. Picture time.

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

7 Comment on “The Treasure of Angkor

  1. Pingback: Angkor | Our Shadows Will Remain

What do you think?

