Howdy, ladies and gentlemen, and welcome to the.ego.tripper. Today I’ll take you to the fab little town of Leuven (for those of you who have no clue: this is in Belgium). After Brussels, Bruges, Antwerp and Ghent, Leuven must be the number five tourist destination in Belgium. Or at least according to my guessing powers. I actually have no clue. I just know it’s pretty. Look:

Stitched Panorama
(I admit, this is somewhat of a distorted picture, but it’s pretty nonetheless)

Anyway, I’m not really here to talk about Leuven. I wanted to tell you: if you ever decide to go there, stay at Pentahotel Leuven. By the way: this is not an ad, it’s an honest recommendation. This very interesting design hotel was officially opened in November of last year and obviously the.ego.tripper got invited to be part of this festive opening. They even invited the British boyband Blue to play some of their greatest hits. Unfortunately I couldn’t make it. No Blue, no Penta, no nothing for me at the time.

So I had to make up for it. And I decided to book a room at Penta Leuven a few weeks ago. Cause I had a dinner party in the area and didn’t want to drive home after drinking cocktails, wine, champagne, wine, something fishy, more wine, … You get it. Don’t drink and drive, kids! But back to Penta now: this hotel is situated in the center of Leuven. You actually cannot go more central than this. And it looks like a Penta, of course, which means: stylish, hip, trendy, colourful, urban, cosy, … The pentalounge makes a laid-back alternative to chilly hotel lobbies and stilted restaurants. And you’ll get the feeling that the details which are important to you are right here: magnificent interior design, entertainment with a flat-screen television and free movie channels, wireless Internet access, first-class beds and showers, relaxed staff and a pleasant ambience of sound, light and aroma. (okay, I have to admit, I stole this last line from their website, but this is more or less what I wanted to say anyway. Also I wanted to add: the bed in the junior suite was actually top notch!)

More info: click.
Rates start at about 140€ for a standard room and about 170 for a junior suite (but you’ll find discounted prices starting at around 80 and 110€).

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

6 Comment on “My pick for Leuven: Penta

What do you think?

