If there’s anything I’ve taught you over the last couple of years, it must be the idea of traveling in style. And by style I don’t only mean a stylish destination but also in a stylish outfit. Because, you know, why look like this when you can look cool. In the past I’ve shown you what you can where in wintertime, in summertime and in between. But I’ve never really put the focus on shoes, have I? That will change now. Thanks to Gray Malin.

Who? Gray Malin is a famous travel photographer, known for his stunning aerial photographs of everything from beaches to penguins to mountain ranges, taken all over the globe. To capture his iconic images, Malin flies in door-less helicopters and leans out of the side and shoots away. “It’s an exhilarating experience dangling from the side of the shaking helicopter while the wind is whipping you in the face, and having seconds to manually adjust the light to capture a perfect timeless moment,” he says. “During my aerial photo shoots I started snapping pictures of my Sperrys dangling from the side of the helicopter and it inspired me to reach out and see if we could collaborate to bring my images onto the shoes. We are both brands who celebrate a mutual love for the sea and stand for classic style and adventure.” So Gray Malin teamed up with Sperry to design some pairs of the classic Sperry boatshoes. “I definitely vision both men and women of all ages wearing them. Looking at the collection as a whole, each shoe fits a different personality, from preppy to urban, younger to older, and even classic to trendy.”

I know you have questions now, like “Really, the.ego.tripper? Boat shoes?”. Yes, boat shoes, my friend. But not regular boat shoes! Boat shoes with a travel theme! My personal favorites? The Cefalu Umbrella sneaker. (by the way, Cefalu is a very cool town in Sicily, please visit!)


(pics (c) Gray Malin)

the.ego.tripper loves family resorts, bingo, kids peeing in the pool, breakfast buffets, hotel animation, tourist traps and group day tours.

4 Comment on “These shoes are made for travelling

What do you think?

